A Traveling Tangle

Recently the family took a road trip to see family and friends. It’s a roughly 6 hour trip each way so I brought along two projects.
The first is the unfinished Jack Skellington baby suit project (seen here). The second is the summer blanket project I decided HH and I need. We do. We had a “light” bedspread that we kept on our bed only in summer. Until a few years ago that is. We returned from a beach trip to it having a battery acid stain on it that had not been there when we left three days before. I blamed the cat and his “party while we were away” shenanigans. He blamed our resident ghost cat. Either way we had to toss it and haven’t had one since. The blanket was tossed, we still have the party animal and the ghost coincidentally.

image

My progress prior to hitting the road.

I have tried starting several patterns the last few weeks but have gotten no where fast. After several more days of searching, and paying a small fee, I have a pattern I love. In case you have yet to pick up on this particular personality trait of mine Dear Readers, I get creativity bored (c.b.) easily. Hard to believe I know, alas tis truer than true. The patterns by Frank O’Randle are the perfect antidote to my c.b. problem. They change pattern and stitch often; which also makes for a healthly challenge. He recommends the use of row/stitch markers and counting of stitches from beginning to ensure accuracy later on in the pattern. I agree. I messed up the count on a row and had to frog three rows, then two rows, and one row this past time. Dont be like me, follow his suggestion and be sure to count.😉 You dont want to pull 100 rows of crochet cause you missed a stitch who knows where right? Cause…Oye!

My choosen pattern is: Rings of Change by Frank O’Randle on Ravelry

I have officially begun the project in my Ravelry profile of course but haven’t added the Yarns, notes, and the like to it yet. I have listed my supplies below. I have no idea how much of each yarn will be used since I’m using size 2 and 3 Yarns in comparison to the size 4 of the written pattern so I will have to keep track in Ravelry and I’ll put that in my final Tangled post for this blanket.

I’m 99% certain it won’t be done by the 2016 summer solstice thus I’ve made my deadline the 2017 summer solstice. I’ve made a couple of blankets before with the help of my Pattern Tester, that’s my Mom for those that don’t know. She has more experience and is a much faster crochet worker than I and we finished those works of art relatively quickly; therefore I think a year solo is a good long limit. Especially because I can’t remember how long it took me to make the one twin sized octagon-granny-square blanket I made back in high school.

image

My traveling stash!

My Supplies:
Hook size: G/4.5mm**
Yarn needle
Stitch markers (a must)
Travel folding scissors
Printed out pattern
Pencil (for checking off last row finished, writing color used, and various notes)
Yarns listed below (one of each in my project bag)
Red project bag to keep it all in

COTTONS:Patons Yarns “Grace” (100% mercerized cotton)
1) Natural {62008} size 3 Light, lot 2015-08-002
2) Lavender *  {62903} size 3 Light, lot 2013-09-004
3) Orchid {62307} size 3 Light, lot 2015-01-001
4) Citadel {62048} size 3 Light, lot 2015-01-002
* This is the multi color yarn, the color by the company is lavender.

BLENDS:Premier Yarns “Cotton Fair” (52%cotton, 48%acrylic)
1) Baby Blue {#27-03} size 2 Fine, lot 6025
2) Lavendar {#27-09} size 2 Fine, lot 4559
3) White {#27-01} size 2 Fine, lot 1355
4) Slate Grey {#27-13} size 2 Fine, lot 3394
5) Black {#27-14} size 2 Fine, lot 2037

**My crochet hook lights up, it’s a CROCHET LIGHT SABER!
Yes I am that much of a dork, and I’m proud of it.

