Thankful on Thirteen for Sixteen Researching

Today’s post comes care of Sunday. Today I spent my free time searching quilt patterns. Not because I do quilting (my Mother-in-Law does though so we have many of them in our home). My plan is to make a light summer bed spread for my Queen sized bed. My mother and I had made a clown blanket together many years ago out of 4×4 granny squares. PING, light bulb!

HH and I had talked about replacing our summer bread spread that got ruined by battery acid but have not gotten around to go shopping for to it the last few years. So I’ll just make one instead. Therefore, today was research day. I’d be looking to find a light cotton yarn or thread (suggestions are more than welcome by the way) and a color pattern that will go nice with the fresh coat of paint going onto the walls during HH’s Spring Break hiatus and the Winter Quilt his mother made for us three years ago. Why that? Because she made a wall hanging to match it and I love the material I had chosen for it and we hung it on the wall so it has to match. Yes it does.

Clown Twin sized

Mommy & Me made a Twin sized Quilt!

 

Sunday afternoon I had finished up a project I had been working on for a new man in my life, my Tribe’s baby! But first, I broke out the heavy equipment! My Brother sewing machine. I was going to stitch a patch to the item I crocheted with some clear thread because hand sewing it on wasn’t going to cut it. Thus I had to wind a bobbin. I’m quite proud of myself for doing this actually. I can’t even remember the last time I took out my sewing machine. And, I didn’t mess it up or tangle the thread or nuthin’! 😀

12814516_10153961532958638_1968724314147467632_n

 

On to my project for the day, or rather, finishing of my project. I used Philadelphia Eagles colors because they’re Eagles fans, naturally. The buttons are care of my MIL. She had let me raid her stash last year when I needed buttons for the donation set and I got a handful of others besides the ones for that project. I thought these would be festive perfection for NewLittleMan.

12814751_10153961532793638_1452007053468258551_n

I have the project over in my Ravelry profile naturally.  It’s a free pattern by Mama That Makes which can be found via this link here. I crochet very loosely when I DC for some reason so it’s larger than the pattern she created in sense of gauge. I also added a couple of rows to ensure it would fit for a while since I wasn’t sure how tall NewLittleMan was going to be by the time he wouldn’t stay in it any longer.

Sunday night I got to see the family that would be getting the snuggie / cocoon / thing-a-ma-bob, a family in my Tribe which I’m so thankful to have in my life, while we all celebrated my niece’s 20th birthday. Coincidentally I got Mommy and Daddy in my selfie with snoozing NewLittleMan. It wasn’t planned that way, just a happy oops. That’s Mommy beside me with the white shirt and sleepy Daddy beside her.

12821578_10153961331423638_1696084039791743652_n

 

They loved it. Mommy even called it a new family heirloom. Touchdown for me! Mommy sent me a picture of him all snuggled up when they got home.

12814131_10153961532718638_328992789842785559_n

No flash photography please, you’ll wake the baby.

He’s a wiggler and luckily my stitching is loose so Mommy will be able to (and did) adjust as needed. Little boys tend to be escape artists ya know. 🙂  I was so happy to get the picture, it was unexpected. I love making things for my family and friends. I’m that person.

I didn’t request a pic of him sleeping in it but a million thank yous Mommy for sending it to me. I love it in all its dark blurry perfection and I love you too (and the boys).

We’re at the half way point now and I’ve only missed two days of creativity. It’s been hard to keep up with getting the posts done but a lot fun making the stuff. What NaCraMo creation have you crafted this week?

3 thoughts on “Thankful on Thirteen for Sixteen Researching

  1. Pingback: A Nice Nineteen | A Very Tangled Webb

Comments are closed.