Colorful Christening

HELLLOOOOO THERE!

Yep I meant the shouty caps. So, now that I have your attention. Welcome to my other space. I decided to give myself a less stress inducing, or releasing depending on your point of view and how I feel the moment I type it, space for the crochet projects I’ve been doing. True my journey thru it all is being shared on purpose, but still, it’s nice to get out of my own head every now and again, thus my enjoyment of zoning out while crocheting. Especially since this year I’ve decided to tackle one very large project all my own. I’m going to make my own pattern for a Cheshire Cat inspired sweater! Yes I know, insanity loves company and company likes to Crochet!

I’d also like to start making up more patterns on my own. They’ll end up here as well, and as well as the ones I’ve made based off other lovely creator’s patterns (with links directly to the creators of course). I enjoy crochet and hopefully you will follow along and enjoy it too, maybe even learn something along with me since I know I don’t know it all…yet. It’s stress relief. Not to mention it’s quite a useful habit that my mommy taught me when I was a child. If mass production of clothing ever fails all I need is a sheep, some sheers, and an ability to stomach farm animals smells. Though I may just ask my sistah Nancy to handle the sheep and pay her with free clothing. She’d absolutely do it for me too. Right Nanners? Right. Okay now that that’s been decided…

 

20160122_160139.jpg

Work in Progress (WIP) Rainbow Face Scrubby

My christening of sorts for this blog is my current quick project. A group of face scrubbies for Eldest Little, my 12 year old son. I have made two sets already, one each for each of my girls. I’ve made each of their sets with a different pastel Lily’s Sugar N Cream cotton yarn. I got the patterns for those two projects from Ravelry (I LOVE that site by the way, it’s free, go check it out, and no they don’t pay me).

Back to the task, the above circle is what I came up with for Eldest Little. It’s the only non-pastel cotton I have available. I initially tried it using the new Scrubby yarn from Red Heart but frankly I’m having trouble getting the hang of that yarn. Not to mention I don’t know that it’s really soft enough for a face cloth; a body cloth sure, a counter-top wiping cloth absolutely, dish towel no problem, but not so much his face and frankly I want him to want to use it. When I gave him the experimental disk he rubbed his fingers on it and made a face at me. It wasn’t the color that put him off to it (the girls didn’t like the feel of it either).

 

20160122_173810.jpg

My experiment with Scrubby yarn. Hook included for size reference.

Needless to say, and yes I’m saying it, I switched to my last skein of cotton. Better for the skin anyway and at his age, that’s very important. Such a protective Mama I am.

P.s. I also have the yarn in black, which is the color his would have been made of had I gotten the hang of it, I used pink first to experiment and not waste the black. Pretty sure I’ll be sending both to Mom so she can make some dish cloths.  Keep an eye out Mommy. 

 

